Jump to content

Graecus5

New Member
  • Content Count

    2
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  1. I ran into an interesting situation the other day using a deck focused around pulling cards from the boundless area. One key card used is Corrin (Kingdom of Valla), whose gameplay involves placing the top card of your deck into the boundless area (gaining Corrin +10) and summoning a Hoshido or Nohr (black or white) card from the boundless area and gaining their skills. The text for these skills are: Skill 2: Blade of Divine Majesty [act] [once per turn] [Send the topmost card of your Deck to the Boundless Area] Until the end of your opponent’s next turn, this unit gains +10 attack. Skill 3: The Future is in Your Hands [act] [once per turn] Choose 1 or card from your Boundless Area, and send it to the Retreat Area. Until the end of the turn, this unit acquires all skills possessed by that card. I found myself in a situation where I had a Corrin on the field, and a second Corrin in the Boundless Area. I wanted to summon one Corrin with the other and argued that I would be able to use his 2nd and 3rd skills again, as they were from the second Corrin card. My friend argued that because the skills specify [Once per turn] and the skills have the same name (because they are the same skill), I wouldn't be able to use them again as the [Once per turn] limitation would prevent it. Essentially, I viewed the action of acquiring skills as if I was adding them to a list: ex. Skill 1. Beyond the Two Nights: You may Class Change an allied "Corrin (Male)" or "Corrin (Female)" into this card. Skill 2: Blade of Divine Majesty: [Send the topmost card of your Deck to the Boundless Area] ... unit gains +10 attack. --> Sends top card to BA, Corrin +10 Skill 3: The Future is in Your Hands: Choose 1 card from your Boundless Area... unit acquires all skills --> Summons Corrin (Kingdom of Valla) from BA, adding: Skill 4: Blade of Divine Majesty: [Send the topmost card of your Deck to the Boundless Area] ... unit gains +10 attack. Skill 5: The Future is in Your Hands: Choose 1 card from your Boundless Area... unit acquires all skills This seems to be, in my view, more in line with how acquiring skills works with all other characters; you gain them and can use them at will, in addition to any skills still on Corrin (which in this case is only Corrin's second skill, assuming it wasn't used prior to Corrin's 3rd skill). It should also be noted that the Dragon Blood skills all explicitly state that each character can only have 1 skill when multiple skills share the same name (A Dragon Blood skill is usable by all characters who also have a DB skills). Corrin's card doesn't specify that you can only have 1 instance of a skill. My Friend's interpretation was closer to: Skill 1. Beyond the Two Nights: You may Class Change an allied "Corrin (Male)" or "Corrin (Female)" into this card. Skill 2: Blade of Divine Majesty: [Send the topmost card of your Deck to the Boundless Area] ... unit gains +10 attack. +1 uses (use blocked due to [Once per turn] restriction Sends top card to BA, Corrin +10 Skill 3: The Future is in Your Hands: Choose 1... unit acquires all skills +1 uses (use blocked due to [Once per turn] restriction Summons Corrin (Kingdom of Valla) from BA, adding +1 uses to Skill 2 and 3: The logic being that because the skills were literally the same, the [Once per turn] limitation blocks the use a second time, and essentially preventing Corrin's from doing anything extra. Instead of acquiring a different skill, Corrin is gaining an additional use of a skill they already have acquired. In the end, it was decided that I could use a summoned Corrin's skills again allowing for 2 cards to be placed in the Boundless Area and giving Corrin +10 for each, as well as the skills of a second summoned character. Outside of Dragon Blood, there aren't too many other instances where skills are shared, so this is kind of a niche mechanic turned up to 11. I am very interested to hear if others have a different opinion, as this situation was seemingly not considered when this card was created. Edit: Found an answer in the Fire Emblem Cipher FAQ google doc
  2. Doesn't the main character have to be a cost 1 unit? How can Grima be a main character, unless I am missing something Is it from Leveling up a grima onto Robin, technically making the main character grima?
×
×
  • Create New...