Multiple Prfs - possible workaround?

Agro

edit: I hadn't realised this was old news, but you can read the original post, regardless.

So I've been toying with the idea of a hack for a little while, and one of the things I really want to implement is Thracia's personal-weapon sort of thing. But to novice "hackers" i.e. people who use Nightmare like myself, beyond the Rapier/Mani Katti/Wolf Beil/Forblaze locks, there's not a lot you can do in this sense. But! I think I figured out an incredibly easy workaround for this that doesn't require anything more than the Nightmare modules.

I started playing around with the item and character abilities, and so I gave the Iron Sword the Eliwood-lock. Starting off in the prologue, it was pretty plain to see that Lyn was unable to use the Iron Sword. Then I gave Lyn the Unlock Rapier Ability, and she could use it. I wondered, then, if Lyn could use the Iron Sword (with the Eliwood-lock) regardless of her Sword rank, so I changed her weapon ranks so she only had a D in Lances. She couldn't use the Iron Sword (with the Eliwood-lock) any more, which is what I'd expected.

Then I realised that this meant that I could do a lot more, because obviously the game doesn't check to see if Lyn is actually Eliwood, it only checks to see that she has the ability that we know as 'Unlock Rapier/Durandal'. Say, then, that I wanted to have (in one FE7 hack) Micaiah, Ike, Ephraim and Olwen, each of which have the personal weapons Thani, Ragnell, Mareeta's Sword, Siegmund and Daim Thunder respectively.

So we've got:

Micaiah - Thani

Ike - Ragnell

Ephraim - Siegmund

Olwen - Daim Thunder