Devil Weaponry

Klokinator

I'm interested in getting some opinions on altering devil weaponry. I always liked the Devil Axe in FE7, it gives great WEXP and it has plenty of power when you're in a pinch, but overall it's heavy and seems a bit... useless. I recently started playing FE7if and while extreeeemely hard, I loved the rebalance they made for the Devil weapons. The balances go like this:

Uses: 40

WGT: 40

MGT: 20

HIT: 105

CRIT: 25

WEXP: 12ish?

Now, I like this balance. I'm debating using the same exact stats for my own projects but I do want opinions. One other balance I want to implement is that instead of 31% - LUK = Backfire chance, I want it to be 41% - LUK = Backfire chance, so that even a character with 30 LUK has an 11% chance of the devil effect activating. With the 40 WGT, it's impossible to double with it, and the high hit and crit chance seems OP until you realize that critting often results in a devil effect which could kill you.

So yeah, opinions?

The main motivation for using Devil Axe in the GBA games (namely in FE8, though you haven't got much time there) is to build up axe rank. Does Gerik or Eir!Duessel want to wield Garm in efficiency settings? Then you'll play around with it, and both Duessel and Gerik can afford hitting themselves with the axe once if that occurs.

In FE SD LTC, the Devil Axe warrants a turn wasted for visiting its village so that Barst has an excellent early way of dealing very destructive damage to enemies. In FE 3DS, Devil Sword allows Marth to pick up kills more easily while heading to the throne, though with arena and the crazy exp gain in the game it shouldn't be a problem for Marth to cap his level for Medeus.

You don't want devil weaponry to backfire you, but you may suffer just as much from a killer weapon enemy proc or whiffing all of your trusted chip. Backfiring isn't the only thing that can go wrong, and you don't have to be stubborn and can just admit that devil weaponry has its uses.