FutureKnightX Posted June 26, 2015 Share Posted June 26, 2015 I was looking around to see an English translation of some comprehensive rules for this game and most of the info I have seen is scattered and, at a few times, contradictory. I feel the wiki needs a page like this. Now I am gonna put down a list of rules and anyone who knows better, please correct me. *Deck is at least 50 cards. There is no max. *A deck may contain no more than 4 copies of the same card. *Players decide who goes first by whatever method they both deem fair. *Set aside one cost 1 unit from your deck face-down as a "Main Character" (now referred to as MC). Any unit can be used, as long as it has a deploy cost of 1. Be sure that this card has a marker (can be anything) to signify that it is a MC. Starter Decks come with a marker one can use. This unit counts towards the 4 card name limit. *Both players shuffle their decks and draw six cards as their opening hand. Players may mulligan, but they send back their whole hand to the deck, shuffle it, and draw another six cards. Only one mulligan is allowed. *After mulligan, players put the top 5 cards of their deck face-down into their orb area. These cards cannot be looked at by anyone, except by effects. *Players start the game by flipping their MC face-up ("Stand up! The vanguard!" :P) *Phases go: Draw Phase, Bond Phase, Deployment Phase, then Action Phase. *Player who goes first skips their Draw Phase. *Units "untap" during the Draw Phase. This consists of turning any horizontal units vertical. *Bond Phase consists of the option to place a card from your hand into your bonds area. * During the Deployement Phase, turn player may place units from their hand into the battlefield or promote their units. Promoting consists of placing a unit with a promotion cost on top of a unit with the same character name (this uses the promotion cost and not the deploy cost). When promoting, the player draws a card. *Things of note for this phase: **The total cost of all units played during this phase may not exceed the cards in your bond area (1 card means one cost 1 unit, 2 cards mean two cost 1s or one cost 2, 5 cards means one cost 5, five cost 1s, a cost 2 and cost 3, etc.) **To reiterate, when promoting, one uses the promotion cost and not the deploy cost. Keep this in mind with the above note. **When effects activate when a unit promotes or when it enters the field promoted, the draw happens first, then the effect. **Promoted units may be played without promoting into them as "normal units". They do not count as promoted, you pay the deploy cost, and you do not draw a card when they are played. **You may promote your MC and the new promoted unit is now your MC. **You may promote on an already promoted unit, as long as the promotion goes from a lower costed unit to a higher costed one. All other restrictions and benefits still occur. **The unit the promoted unit used to be stays under the new one to signify that it has been promoted (this is key to keeping track for all sorts of effects). Includes any promoted units that the unit used to be. **You may "upgrade" a unit. This consists of playing a higher costed unpromoted unit on top of a lower costed unpromoted unit of the same character. This is not a promotion and the former unit goes to the retreat area. You pay the cost for an upgrade by paying the deploy cost. You may upgrade your MC and the new unit is now your MC. **Color restrictions are as follows: you may only deploy a unit if you have a FACE-UP card in your bond area of the same color. The amount in the bond area does not matter, as long as it is at least one. If all cards of said color in your bond area are face-down, then YOU MAY NOT PLAY THAT UNIT! **You MAY NOT deploy a unit if a unit with the same character name is already deployed, even if it is a different card name (this is why upgrade is a thing, among other reasons). *Action Phase consists of using the abilities of your units, in addition to moving and attacking with them. *Things of note for this phase: **Some abilities ask you to flip a certain number of bonds face-down as part of the cost. You must do so in order to use the skill and be sure to keep in mind what is stated above about about color restrictions. Flipped bonds stay face-down, unless flipped back up by an effect. **Some abilities require you to "tap" the unit and/or another one as part of the cost. This consists of turning the unit(s) horizontal from vertical. This must be done in order to use the effect. **Moving consists of moving a character from the front line to the rear line, or the rear line to the front line. You tap the unit when doing so. **When attacking, the attacker may select any target within their range. A range of 1 means from front line to front line and a range of 2 means front line to the rear line, or the rear line to the front line. Units with a range of 1-2 have the option of picking either range when attacking. You tap the unit to attack. **The player who goes first may not attack. **You may not tap a unit that has already been tapped (a tapped unit would be horizontal). This basically means a unit may not move and attack in the same turn, among other things. *Attacking consists of: **Declaring an attack by selecting which unit is attacking (by tapping it) and selecting a legal target (within range) for the attack. **Skills that activate upon attacking with the unit activate, then any skills that activate when the other unit is defending activate. **Both players now flip the top cards of their deck face-up into their respective support areas (at the same time). **Any support skills that activate upon supporting an attacker activate, then when the attacking character is supported, then when supporting a defender, then when the defender is supported (I realize this order hasn't been established but the order has yet to really matter, so I defer to turn player here). **The support power is added to the respective card's power. Say, a Marth with 40 power is attacking and is supported by a Caede with 30 support power. Marth's power is now 70. Same goes with the defender, naturally. **A character may not support itself. Basically, a Chrom card may not support a Chrom. If the card trying to support an attacker or defender is of the same character, then no power is added, not any skills that activate when supporting activate. **The attacking player may now choose to discard a card with the attacking character's name (may be a different card name, but still must be a card of the character). If they do so, then the attacker performs a "critical attack" and their power is doubled (including any support power added) until the end of the battle. **The defending player may now choose to discard a card with the defending character's name (same rules as when going for a critical attack). If they do so, then the defender performs an "evasion" and the attack is nullified, as if it never happened. **Now, if the attack wasn't evaded, the attacker's power is compared to the defender's power. If the attacker's power is greater or EQUAL to the defender's power, then the defender is destroyed by battle. If the defender has higher power, then nothing happens. The attacker does not get destroyed. **When a unit is destroyed by battle, if the unit is not a MC, then it goes into the retreat area. If the unit is a MC, then instead, the controlling player takes a card from their orb area and puts it into their hand. ***IF THE PLAYER MUST TAKE A CARD FROM THEIR ORB AREA AND CANNOT DO SO DUE TO THERE BEING NO CARDS THERE, THEN THEY LOSE THE GAME! **At this point, regardless of any outcome, the cards in the support area must now go to the retreat area. *After the player is done with their Action Phase, their turn ends. Once again, if there is anything wrong here, or anything needs adding, then please say so. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.