Final Fantasy 7 Tips For A Newbie

Busterman64

Ok, so I recently went to my Goodwill and I actually found a copy of Final Fantasy VII, with all 3 disc, (THANK YOU GOD) and the ps1 version of FF IV (the one from FF Chronicles)...somehow all in the same game case( ...a mix up I guess, but hey...I'm not complaining). I'd been wanting to play this game for a good while now, but......I'm a newbie to the ps1 FF games and I feel like a few tips would help me out greatly since I've heard about rare steals and some hidden stuff(weapons, items, summons, etc) and I would to not fall for or miss some stuff. So any tips and tricks would be helpful to me (No spoilers please...expect the one about Sephiroth using "Jump" on Aerith...almost everyone knows about that)! Please and Thank you in advance!

:Joshua:

About 3 hours in (Aerith leading me back to Sector 7)...so far so good! Kinda looking everywhere just in case I find hidden goodies and I'm grinding here and there.

This not much of an advice, but there's something important,
Grind, especially when it comes to materia.
This may seem obvious, but leveling up your materia is really important.

Seeing how much it takes for you to reach the next level for materia, grinding for it makes a LOT of sense!

Edited by Busterman64

Check a missable guide (like this one: https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=186442320 ). large portions of the first part of the game are not revisitable. THis notably includes your first chance at an "enemy skill" and "elemental resistance" materia. there is other stuff that you can miss easily latter (such as some ultimate weapons). As for grinding, i find that it's like pokemon in that random encounters are usualy enough if you are reasonably smart.

Edited by sirmola

Also the ways to get Limit Breaks is as such, everyone starts with their first level 1 one, so the way to get your 2nd one in level 1 is to use it a certain amount of times.