Out of These FF Games, Which One Should I Get?

CooledEvergreen

Which of These FF Games Should I Get First?  

38 members have voted

1. 1. Which One?

• FF1
    • FF2
    • FF3
    • FF4
    • FF5
    • FF6
    • FF8
    • FF9

Right now, the PSN is having a sale where you can purchase FF1-FF9 at a reduced price. I've been wanting to get into the series for a while, and I thought this would be a good time to start. As someone who is a complete newbie to FF and has already bought FF7, which of these FF games should I get first?

Like everyone here, 6 or 9 are your best bets.

9 is generally considered by actual critics (and not fans) as the best game in the series (based on gameplay, graphics, story and music during its existence). Yeah, even better than the mighty 7 (which is really only liked for its nostalgia at this point). As for VI, it's relatively easy, has an excellent story and lots of different characters to choose from.

Buy 7 or 5. I dislike 9 and don't care for 6, so I wouldn't recommend them.

7 is a classic, and 5 has the best gameplay in the entire series.

Alternatively, you could probably find a copy of 13 for like 5 dollars or easily get X/X-2 HD. I'd recommend them as well.

Since you're not very familiar with Final Fantasy, I'd suggest IV to start off. You can't really mess yourself over with wrong character setups or anything like that, finding out where to go next is much easier compared to most Final Fantasy games due to the game being very linear in terms of finding your next location, and level grinding is hardly needed as long as you don't run from battles too often (and job/AP grinding isn't an issue at all).

IV would be easier to get through but VI has a more interesting story/cast I feel. IX has some kind of good story as well.

But if you get IV you might as well get the complete story and get After Years for a full story experience....

i hate 4

that's all I can really say on the subject