BreadLord's attempts at mapping (and now mugs too)

BreadLord

Okay so a while ago I started working on a Fire Emblem hack and I've discovered that making maps is a lot of fun. So since I'm new to this sort of thing I've decided I might as well post my maps here for critique and just general advice.

[spoiler=Spooky Temple]

dQeaDkz.png

This tileset was a pain to work with with all the edge tiles. I'm worried the bottom half looks a lot more bland compared the top half.

[spoiler=Castle Courtyard]

WFB3seM.png

The first map I made. Really simple. The main prince character gets ambushed by some assassins here.

[spoiler=Obligatory Bandit map]

zYrtWwa.png

The river looks kinda awkward but otherwise I'm happy with this one. The good guys start on the hill in the top right.

[spoiler=Forest Map]

MuT1rsZ.png

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

9NPKuAu.png

Decided to try something new and make this closed in pseudo indoors forest map. There's two versions here because I wasn't sure which I liked better, but I'm leaning towards the top one. I'm a bit worried about it being too chokepoint heavy though.

[spoiler=Defense Map]

WILtPgo.png

So obviously this one isn't finished. Tried using FE Map Creator's random generation feature a bit for some parts. The mountain is super ugly but I don't really know how to do those.

So yeah, please tell me if my maps suck or not.

Edit: Fixed a height error on the temple map that slipped past me.

Edited by BreadLord

They don't suck XD. On a quick look I can't see anything wrong with most of them, except for the mountain and maybe the "indoor forest" one.

The temple's my favorite one, especially because of the water, most of the time it's just pitch black on that tileset. Maybe you could add some more places where it moves, though that's just my opinion.