How well educated are the future kids?

Ottservia

So I was in the middle of writing my awakening fanfic when this sort of question popped into my head. I mean we know most of them have basic reading, writing, and I assume arithmetic skills. Though this does beg the question of how long their education was in the first place. I mean if we go by the timeline Chrom must've died when Lucina was roughly 11 years old at max and that's when everything went to shit. No time to study math gotta save the world homework can wait. Also can yarne read/write? I don't think so but I dunno if taguel value that sort of thing. Then there's Nah which considering her situation I'm surprised she can read at all. Cause if her foster parents were as bad as she says then I doubt they would care about giving her an education. Maybe she's self taught? Then again what's the education system in Ylisse like anyway? Ugh so many questions!

Depends on if they were able to have "calm" moments and if some like Laurent took to studying in the past.  Also would depend on how long certain 1st gen characters survived, specifically more studious ones like Miriel or Tharja.  And the kind of education would vary from parent to parent.

All things considered, Lucina, Laurent, Severa, Brady, and Noire are probably the most educated.  Lucina because obviously a royal would receive lots of tutoring (and she carries herself like a person of polite nobility), Brady and Laurent for even more obvious reasons, Severa would probably have knowledge more along the lines of military tutoring but that's still a lot in an apocalypse, and Noire as a sort of lab partner for her mother.  Morgan also seems to be well-studied, though I'm not sure he/she counts because they're not from the timeline everyone else is from.