Atelier series discussion thread

MisterIceTeaPeach

I just have started with this series for real (Sophie and Lulua) and I know some other people from this forum, so I thought it would be a good place for sharing gamimg experiences, recommemdations and questions.

Since I am new to this series, I have the one or other question mainly regarding Alchemy.

Would be cool to see some conversations here.

15 hours ago, Dinar87 said:

What is this series? Does it have a good story and characters like fire emblem and xenoblade chronicles 1+2?

I really have not played enough to be able giving a qualitative sufficient answer, but I share what I have figured our on my own.

First of all each game of the series features a female protagonist who's an alchemist. Alchemy is a major part of the game. You have to synthesize drinks which give status boosts or inflict status ailemts or other things have to be made constantly by gathering items or fulfilling quests. Synthesizing has a level system. The more synthesizes, the better the drinks will become.

The atmosphere of this series is very bright. The design and the personality of the protagonists is really natural. I consider to describe them as "cute" without being sexualized in any regard. Ryza is the only exception from what I know and have seen. It can understand if people might consider the atmosphere and Backround as too happy, but I do not mind. I expect it will change during the game because there cannot be a character in a JRPG without character development.

Gameplaywise it is a standard round based static JRPG, so not comparable to Xenoblade.

The outstanding things of this series are the character design and the Alchemy mechanic.

It also features a day and night shedule system, but I cannot explain it accurately enough yet.

Some Atelier games are connected and also exist as a set like the Artland triology.

I guess @DragonFlames can give a much better answer than I have done.