This game's difficulty is slept on

♠Soul♠

I'm on Endgame: Grima, and I feel the game is far harder if you simply abstain from abusing Pair Up. The enemies start becoming really bulky by around the Valm arc (past Ch.14 or so), and you can start telling once they start promoting. If you don't have considerably more levels or stats, you struggle a lot more to 1RKO unless you're someone like Wyvern Panne or an overleveled Avatar. It takes a lot of Atk to consistently 2HKO a couple of enemies at times. For example, my Maribelle and Libra (both have pretty high Magic) struggle to 2HKO stuff like Generals and Berserkers through sheer HP numbers (these Berserkers have literally 8 Res by Endgame...).

I played the game a lot more in the past, but this is my first time truly beating it without Pair Up. A lot of the time, it feels like the enemies were outright designed to be killed through Dual Strike, and stuff like this becomes even harder when you factor in an overwhelming enemy density on certain chapters (i.e Ch.19, 20, 25, Endgame, etc.).

And, honestly? The game feels pretty achieving when you stop abusing broken mechanics. Makes you see the game itself isn't the pushover, but that Pair Up is simply broken.

Just out of curiosity, what difficulty? I remember some of those early chapters being an utter nightmare on my Lunatic, no pair-up to attack or defend LP.

Speaking of which I am working on reviving that, although it has been a while (just over a year... jeez I do not remember it being that long ago...), as it got killed when my old laptop died with a chapters worth of images, and most of a write-up on it.

14 minutes ago, Eltosian Kadath said:

Just out of curiosity, what difficulty? I remember some of those early chapters being an utter nightmare on my Lunatic, no pair-up to attack or defend LP.