NES and SNES Nintendo Switch online

MasterJP28

After playing this era of games for more than a decade now with translation, I was excited to find out that some of the games became available on the NSO service. I started playing them on there and have had a blast even without translation.

I was wondering if anyone else has given that a shot and what they thought about it. Only thing I miss is having the fast forward button that other services have. But the convenience of playing on the tv and portable anytime and anyway has been fun. Now I’m just waiting for Thracia 776 to be added.

I tried the one-week free trial of it, and I managed to play through all of Super Metroid and about half of A Link to the Past.

I thought it was overall okay; it's a bit barebones, but at least it works without issues (cough N64 expansion cough). I wouldn't get the whole thing, mainly because there aren't enough games on it that I actually want to try.

1 hour ago, MasterJP28 said:

Now I’m just waiting for Thracia 776 to be added.

I doubt that they will add it for two major reasons:

1. They've all-but stopped adding games to it; they have little incentive to add more games to it because of its very nature; they will reach a point where the time and cost of adding more games to it will outweigh the profits, as they aren't directly making money from the games.

2. None of the old Fire Emblem games are on Switch Online; at least not in North America, because they were Japan-Only games. When Nintendo got around to localizing the first game, they didn't add it to Switch Online; they sold it as a limited-time release.

12 minutes ago, vanguard333 said:I doubt that they will add it for two major reasons:

1. They've all-but stopped adding games to it; they have little incentive to add more games to it because of its very nature; they will reach a point where the time and cost of adding more games to it will outweigh the profits, as they aren't directly making money from the games.