Does anyone have tips on preventing easy FE4 pairings from happening and making the difficult ones happen?

Ⱥstra

Hi,

I plan to iron man FE4 some time soon and this of course means that if I mess up a pairing, I am somewhat screwed. As I want to make good use of the Valkyrie staff, I don't really think I have a choice in whether I want to do Erinys x Claude, since Hannibal and his kid have a difficult recruitment that an inexperienced FE4 player such as myself will probably mess up. Ced also gives me one extra chapter of access to it and will therefore have more time to use it and to make more gold to repair it as well.  I already did this one in my first run but I need the staff so it is what it is. Though, maybe having rescue utility on Lana and eventually Leif is actually better for the purpose of saving units. Probably not though...

Anyway, this means that I want to pair Lewyn with Tailtiu, which is a pairing I have never done before. On my first run I messed up and got him married with Sylvia. I was therefore wondering if there are any consistent strategies to prevent a pairing like that from happening and for making the more difficult ones happen. Are there also any fail safes one can turn to in case something goes wrong? How exactly can killing a unit temporarily or permanently prevent a pairing from happening?

Any replies are greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

I'll go ahead and take the time to plug the Love Growths and Jealousy pages from the main site since they have the most reliable information on it, I think. I'd definitely give that a look-see when you can. It's supremely helpful. I'll also apologize in advance for any potential errors, as well as potentially providing information that you might have already known.