Best Characters to Level Up (Spoilers?)

SaMaster14

Hey guys! I'm pretty new to Fire Emblem (I played Awakening, but was a complete beginner at the time, so I kinda just played through it without much strategy and I want to change that for Fates).

I picked Birthright to play first, which allows for a lot more support/leveling up of characters with side missions/challengers etc. But, after Chapter 6, you start getting more characters than you can use in battle obviously, and I'm wondering if it is strategic to level up/use certain characters over others.

I don't mind character spoilers, so if there are any specific characters you guys feel should be leveled up and certain ones that shouldn't be bothered with, please post your opinions!

Thanks!

If you pick a good balance of classes it's hard to go wrong really. That being said there are a few characters who are worse than others, and if you are going for the strongest team (rather than just characters you like), I would ditch:

Rinkah (not enough Strength)

Orochi (not enough Speed)

Setsuna (completely outclassed by Takumi)

Those three are perfectly useable, but they require a little extra work (like stat-increasing items) and there are better alternatives.

I'm using Rinkah and Orochi on Hard/Classic and without grinding, but I had to give them some stat boosters to help them keep up.

Well, with Ryoma and Takumi, you're pretty much set for the majority of the game (if you are doing normal or hard) :P But other good units would include Azura, Hinoka, Scarlet, your first servant, and Kaze. As long as it's not lunatic, you can probably get away with training characters based on preferences alone.