My quick thoughts on Genealogy of the Holy War

I just beat FE4 last night. It took me a few hours to beat the final chapter because of how scary some of the enemies are especially if consider that Julius can double attack with you meteor. And his skills consisted of wrath, pursuit, adept and accost is downright frightening. That said, I had a really good time playing this game. Kaga did such a masterful job at using the game mechanics as story telling devices and enhancing world building. It had plenty of pretty dark moments but a light at the end of the tunnel to it.

My rankings were E in tactics (I took a long time at establishing pairs I wanted to use and didn’t know fully that there were faster or more proficient methods at speeding up supports), B then two A’s which resulted in a overall B rank which I am fine with since this is my first time playing it. 

My pairings were aside from the set in stone ones were Lex x Ayra, Midir x Edain, Beowolf x Lachesis, Dew x Bridget, Lewyn x Erinys, Azelle x Tailtiu and Sylvia x Claude.

Most of the pairings were quite ridiculous and the rest were fine. There were some things I wished I could’ve done more research on in hindsight but honestly I’m just glad to have beaten the game and really appreciate how different this game was to the other FE games I’ve played.

If I were to ever revisit this game, I do want to try for a AAAA ranking. I’m just not sure which pairing would help me achieve this.

Posted (edited)

I definitely appreciate its ambition and tone far more than most other Fire Emblem games. It has a certain grandeur and feel that elevate its proceedings above the realm of the ordinary, even if they often suffer from flawed, patchy writing. It certainly helps that it has quite a few well realized scenes, including the infamous Battle of Bellhala that still inspires discussion to this very day. A shame its general grand concept was never picked up and improved upon.

Edited by Revier