I'm New to This and I Need A Lot of Help

Soren37

So I would like to try my hand at a FE hack, most likely the Sacred Stones. I haven't downloaded Nightmare yet or played around with anything, but I do have some very basic, if almost stupid, questions.

1) If I wish to change a character's stats/growths/levels, do I have to use a hex to dec or vice-versa?

2) What good spriting tools are there, as I need to recolour quite a few and/or make new ones.

3) In addition to sprites, what would I use to replace the current sprite with one of my own.

I know that Nightmare is the program to go to, but I do need a lot of help. I'll use this as an example.

Eirika starts off at Level 1 Lord with 16 HP, 4 STR, 8 SKL, 9 SPD, 5 LCK, 3 DEF, 1 RES, and 5 MOV. Say I wanted to do this.

Eirika's name changes to Morgan, along with a recoloured/custom sprite.

Her base level is now 3, with 20 HP, 5 STR, 9 SKL, 11 SPD, 5 LCK, 4 DEF, 2 RES, and 6 MOV.

What would be affected to bring about these changes?

Very simple

In Nightmare, go to the FE8 character editor Module, go to Eirika, change her level and base stats(stats shown in nightmare are added to class bases for full base stats)

For her mug, you need FEditor. use the portrait editor for that.

For text, you use the text editor in FEditor. Simply type in Eirika, then type Morgan in the 'replace' box, then press replace all.

...It's really that simple?

Christ, I saw a sample video for Radiant Dawn hacking, and you had to convert back and forth between hex and dec so many times I was afraid of hacking.

Well then, now that I know that, I have two more questions.

If I want to change events, such as, let's say Amelia's entrance, would I find an event editor in Nightmare for that? Would that also include being able to include my own events?

Along with the Text Editor in FEditor, would that also allow me to change which characters say what?

We'll use the opening and a support as an example.

Opening

The continent of Canada.