Ungodly Hour

Polaris

This is a sort of old thing I wrote that I dug up while cleaning out my hard drive. As such, I want to work on it a bit, if it's salvageable in any way. I can see problems in it, definitely, but I'd like a few more opinions before I go on a rampage of backspacing. Thing is, I'm also a better editor of other people's things than my own, so I'd really appreciate any criticism/ripping apart from the people on this forum. In short, if you think it's rubbish, then please say so - and hopefully tell me why so that I don't make the same mistake ever again.

Er, if you could give me feedback in the topic itself, that'd be nice since this is kind of the whole thing.

This is a short story at about 1800 words.

The little girl sat up straight and cold, her shoulders trembling with the weight of her world. She lay there, cold and wet from the snow and she prayed. She prayed with all her might that it was a dream, just a foolish nightmare to punctuate with screams. Dark dreams for dark days. She went down the creaking stairs to her grandmother who trembled too, and in their silence a millions words passed, unsaid but not unheard. Both of them dressed in shawls of green, and both of them cloaked in misery. Death was a friend and enemy to them.

Her father left for the war. He was gunned down while trying to bravely take a bunker on a hill. Her brother joined the army. Only bits of him were ever found. All she had left was a senile grandmother driven insane with loss. The iron bars of her prison closed in on her and she was all alone.