So I need a little help with things.

The Joker

I've read much of Blazers ultimate tutorials but I'm still confused about a tad many things since I'm new to rom hacking

and I really want to learn how to do these from pros like you guys.

1. When you want to create a new character, you just overwrite an existing character's data with Nightmare right? practical examples would help.

2. If you plan to make an entirely new story, what would be better, to make the characters first? or to make the maps and events etc.?

3. What's the use of other game modules for another game? for example, will there be a purpose or result in using FE8 modules in FE7?

What are the practical uses of doing such if there is?

4. How do you change character names with FEditor Adv? xD

so far, these have been the questions pressing me the most.

Thanks in advance guys for helping a noob out.

1. When you want to create a new character, you just overwrite an existing character's data with Nightmare right? practical examples would help.

Pretty much. Try it, and if you get stuck, post an actual question, and be specific. Screenshots help.

2. If you plan to make an entirely new story, what would be better, to make the characters first? or to make the maps and events etc.?

I don't think it really matters. The important thing is to take it a piece at a time, have a vision, keep notes and keep backups.

3. What's the use of other game modules for another game? for example, will there be a purpose or result in using FE8 modules in FE7?

The most likely result is that you screw everything up. We have modules for each game because each game needs its own modules, because the data for just about any given feature is in a different spot in each game's ROM. (And in many cases, the feature works fundamentally differently, e.g. FE6 sprites not having blinking frames.)

4. How do you change character names with FEditor Adv? xD