GRE

Chiki

I took a couple practice exams through Kaplan at my university, and it seemed easy enough. Everything was generally high-school level work, including the math part. It's easy enough to recognize, but also easy enough to have forgotten if you didn't need to stick with math (things like geometry and algebra, fractions/decimals/whole number debacles, etc.).

I think the big thing firstly is to speak with the school you want to go to, and ask what parts of the GRE they care most about. Some might care less about the math scores as they do the writing and language portions.

The verbal is the hardest part by far - but I'm also not a good reader (got a 157, 70th percentile or something) I thought the math was easy as fuck, i got a 170 without studying, but I'm also majoring in physics.

I got a 5.0 on writing (which was like 94th percentile) and I don't think I'm a great writer. The writing is basically along the same lines of stuff you'll see in practice books.

As for the computer part - it's really straightforward. If you google practice exams you'll see the format. The computer makes the writing easier. Computer means you don't have to bubble in answers either, and in general it makes everything easier (since they give you scratch paper).

• 2 weeks later...

I got in the 60th percentile (730 raw). I ignored a lot of the questions pertaining to lenses because I never properly learned them (5-10 questions down the drain), and there were like 5-10 questions on particle physics that I had no idea about because we had next to nothing in terms of particle physics exposure. Otherwise it's basically like the practice one that they send you. It shouldn't be hard, especially since I have a great recall memory from all of undergrad, but there are some questions that basically come out of nowhere. If you search around the net you'll find plenty of resources for questions. A lot of 90s Physics GREs are very very different to modern Physics GREs, too.