Help?

Kamui-

Hello guys, I'm quite new to fire emblem, and I'm saying this because my first game was awakening (yes I know Im an awakening casual noob .-.), I've had the game since early 2014, and I'm still really confused on the mechanics, I see people talking about modifiers and all that tacticianal mumbo jumbo and it's just throwing me off. So anyone mind informing me on this stuff, I've already beaten the game a few times just so you know (Not on hard sadly .3.).

Thank you.

Not sure what you need specifics on but...

In the past games, the caps (max stat) anyone could have in any stat was based on class and pretty much solely on class. Yes, there were cases like Paladin (F) and Paladin (M) for genders; those were considered classes. Gender classes for stat differences was removed for Awakening.
In Awakening, there is still this principle of class caps but now each character has exclusive modifiers to these stats. The class caps for a character are unique to each character.

Let's go into an example. Chrom/Sully as Paladins.
Here are the default caps for a Paladin:

80 HP, 42 Strength, 30 Magic, 40 Skill, 40 Speed, 45 Luck, 42 Defense, 42 Resistance.

Modifiers are listed on this page. Chrom and Sully's modifiers are:

Chrom: +1 Strength, +1 Skill, +1 Speed, +1 Luck, -1 Defense, -1 Resistance

Sully: -1 Strength, -1 Magic, +2 Skill, +2 Speed, -1 Defense

When applying modifiers, these affect the caps. So...

Chrom (Paladin): 80+0 HP, 42+1 Strength, 30+0 Magic, 40+1 Skill, 40+1 Speed, 45+1 Luck, 42-1 Defense, 42-1 Resistance

Sully (Paladin): 80+0 HP, 42-1 Strength, 30-1 Magic, 40+2 Skill, 40+2 Speed, 45+0 Luck, 42-1 Defense, 42+0 Resistance

Their caps as Paladins:

Chrom (Paladin): 80 HP, 43 Strength, 30 Magic, 41 Skill, 41 Speed, 46 Luck, 41 Defense, 41 Resistance

Sully (Paladin): 80 HP, 41 Strength, 29 Magic, 42 Skill, 42 Speed, 45 Luck, 41 Defense, 42 Resistance

So even though these two are Paladins, they are unique.