Newbie question about maxing stats/reclassing/skills

Astrum

Hello,

I'm relatively new to Fire Emblem (and new to the forums), having finished my first playthrough on normal/casual a few days ago. I've just started a new game on hard, but I'm still not sure I understand stats/skills/reclassing.

I would like to max all stats for my characters, but I don't mind not taking the shortest route to get there. Have I understood the following correctly?

1) Second Seals and Master Seals will always allow me to reclass (or just go back to level 1 in the same class) to any base class/advanced class available to that particular character. I can use these in any desired order, and as many times as I want.

2) No matter how I use the seals, I will eventually be able to max my stats for any character. If I use them "incorrectly", it'll just take me longer.

3) No matter how I reclass, I will be able to get all available skills eventually, as long as I fully level to 20 at least once in each class (I'm aware that some skills aren't as useful).

Is this correct?

Also, I would like to know how the game decides which stats to increase when leveling (is it randomized?), and if I need to get particular skills before recruiting children post-chapter 13, or if the children will be able to get all possible skills eventually, regardless of their parents' skills.

Thanks a lot, and sorry for my newbie questions! :)

Point 3 is slightly incorrect. You get certain skills at certain points, but you never get skills at level 20. For example, you will get finished with base classes by level 10 (of course, I suppose in a way you are right because if you are level 20 it means you passed level 10). To expedite your process, you can leave the class when you reached the second skill (10 unpromoted or 15 promoted).