Question about Marx (Plot spoilers within)

blinkingbrave

First, if there's somewhere else I should put this, please tell me. I didn't quite see an applicable topic to ask this in, but if there is, I'd be happy to move it. It's my first time in the forum so I dunno what conventions you guys have.

Anyways...

Question: Is Marx suicidal?

I'm writing an AU fanfic, and this would fit well in the story. Unfortunately, I can't read Japanese, and the plot translation I'm reading hasn't gotten far enough for me to confirm if this is actually canon or not.

My thought was that his Nyx support implied some suicidal tendencies, but it wasn't brought up anywhere else or truly confirmed so I'm a little hesitant to write it in his character based solely on my analysis of the support. I'm suspicious it could come up or at least be implied again during the chapter you fight him on the Hoshido route, but the story translation I'm reading hasn't gotten that far yet.

If it's an actual part of his character, I want to write it into my fanfic sooner rather than later so I can be subtle about it and get all that buildup, but if it's not, then I kinda need to rewrite parts of my plot skeleton.

Since I can't really confirm on my own but also can't really wait around for confirmation, I was wondering what everyone else's thoughts on it were. General consensus seems the best substitute given the circumstances.

Suicidal, or nah?

Edited by blinkingbrave

I don't have any substantial proof, but to me it seems like he's just stressed from being under Garon's thumb, leading Nohrian forces against Hoshido, and Corrin's potential betrayal.

After Elise dies, he might have somewhat of a thought of dying though, considering he pretty much throws the aforementioned fight with Corrin.

He does thank Corrin before he dies, should (s)he side with Hoshido, but its more like a "thanks for being a sibling for all these years" thing.