Fire Emblem Shadow Dragon font format

duckbill

Hi All,

First of all, sorry for my bad english.

Right now I am wanna start translation project for Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon. English -> Russian.

This game will never get a russian localization so I decided to do it myself for my wife and all russian fans of FE.

The only problem right now is the font. Did someone managed to hack font file structure?

I have a lot of experience in software developing so it's no problem to me to create any pack/unpack tools.

I only need an information about file structure.

Can anyone help me?

Have you started by unpacking the ROM (using NDSTool or etc) and looking around through the contents?

I had a look at the font structure a while back. I have a fairly good grasp of how the game defines what code equals what symbol and where the font graphics may be, but not how to edit the font graphics (or what they even look like).

I'll see if I can dig up some notes.

Yes, I unpacked ROM. There are at least 2 files with the same structure in the data/fonts folder: alpha and talk.

First one responsible for system messages and menu and second one for dialogs between characters.

As far as I understand file structure:

[Header Section]

[Data Section]

Header section:

4 bytes: Total file length

4 bytes: Offset in Data section of some table (Table1)

4 bytes: length of Table1

20 bytes: Unknown (padding?)

Table1 contains two sets of pointers (4 bytes each).

First half of table:

offset in the data section of pointer to glyph attributes record

Second half of table - unknown pointers.

Glyph record is:

2 bytes: Code of symbol (I do not determine code page, but probably ShiftJIS)

2 bytes: width of symbol

4 bytes: unknown (seems to to be a pointer in data section for glyph image)

4 bytes: unknown (always 0, padding?)

That's all so far that I found.