Offsets and Pointers

Leif

I am having trouble importing maps and map sprites. For instance, I can successfully import anything to the "DD0000" offset fine. However, when I try and insert more than one change, the game crashes. I inserted my own map sprite, but I don't know where else to include the walking animation, because if I add it to the "DD0001" offset, the game freezes. I look through a hex editor, but I don't know where free space starts and ends. I am new to this, so forgive my inexperience.

I am having trouble importing maps and map sprites. For instance, I can successfully import anything to the "DD0000" offset fine. However, when I try and insert more than one change, the game crashes. I inserted my own map sprite, but I don't know where else to include the walking animation, because if I add it to the "DD0001" offset, the game freezes. I look through a hex editor, but I don't know where free space starts and ends. I am new to this, so forgive my inexperience.

There's your mistake. The imported data takes up FAR more than ONE byte. Look at Arch's tutorial for better clarification.

In his tut. notice in the second spoiler pic, where the FF are and in bunches, those tend to be free space( at least in the DD0000 and onwards up to some limit. If you downloaded FeEditor Adv, IIRC it should have some file that tells you where free space in an unaltered FE ROM is.) Arch's tutorial covers it quite well so just read, understand and utilize the info to correct your error(s).

Try this. Import your first map sprite.

Then save. Then open Nintenlord's LZ77 Compressor.

Choose the input as your ROM.

Choose "Size" for the option (Should be the very last one). Put in your DD0000 as the offset for the input details (should be on the right). Run.

It should tell you how big that graphics was. Start AFTER adding that size to DD0000 for the next thing.

That was very useful thanks!