so now what

gnomed0

i'm new to hacking and really am clueless as to where to start. i wanted to mess around with FE7 and make my own characters stats campaigns ect. i really don't know what i'm doing and to make matters worse there are so many different programs and terms to learn. i already got hexadecimal down thank god, so i consider myself a little lucky. from what i can tell the best way of doing a hack is with nightmare...unfortunately i can't figure out how to get it to even show me the values and such. i'm using version 2.0 and i don't get it at all. i choose my rom, i choose my module and nothing. doesn't even flash up on the screen or give me an error, just nothing. if there is a tutorial on how just to open something in nightmare 2 and to work the program i can't find it. do i have to unzip my rom? does it have to go through another program before it can be used? i don't know and it'd be cool if you guys could help me.

also if there is a tutorial of a program for changing sprites and tiles that you could also direct me to that'd be swell.

Well, the first thing I'd do is direct you to the Ultimate Tutorial, since it explains just about everything you need to know pretty well.

That being said, I'm not sure what the problem with your Nightmare/ROM is. Which ROM are you using, and which modules? Have you unzipped the ROM, as well?

As for sprites, it does depend on which kind of sprites you want to change. For new graphics pertaining to face sprites and battle sprites, FEditor Adv is currently the best program to use. For other graphics, GBAGE is the way to go, although that can be pretty complicated if you're unsure of what you're doing, so if you need anything, just ask :):