FE8: inserting new characters, multiple S ranks

Hellequin

Hey everyone

So first off, I'm relatively new to hacking games and I'm the first one to say that the stuff I've been doing isn't that difficult. However what I want to do is more difficult and I'm getting stumped...the plethora of tutorials and topics out there are very helpful, but many are beyond my scope or lacking somewhere.

Anyway, I'm editing FE8 right now, mostly just tweaking some things that I've never liked about the game; easy stuff like stat caps, promotion branches, items etc. All nightmare stuff. I've also done some palette editing for portraits and sprites, which included some hex work for the lords since they don't have palette pointers. Most recently I've created a custom portrait and sprite palette that I've successfully put into the game just to make sure they work by replacing a character, but I would really like to add an entirely new character to the game. Which brings me to my first stump point.