Began my first playthrough of Awakening

I haven't played any Fire Emblem games in a few years. Recently I decided to buy a 2DS and Awakening and new go. I played most of the English releases, but I've never been particularly good at the games so take my "experience" with a grain of salt.

So I started playing Awakening on normal. I didn't look at any guides until about chapter 12 (except for a tier list just before I started). I've just finished chapter 13 and Paralogue 8. I have a few questions about what I should do during this playthrough.

1. What should be the timing for promotions/using master seals? I'm used to the older games where you should usually wait til lv.15-20 before promoting. The existence of second seals means that characters don't have a level cap, strictly speaking. Is the timing for promotions relatively the same, or should the timing for them change?

2. Is it necessary to use second seals to beat normal? I've only used one (to change Panne to a Wyvern Rider). I'm assuming that they won't be strictly necessary.

3. Here are the pairs I currently have (I just let them happen naturally, didn't realize until recently that some were questionable) What classes would be good for the children? I've only recruited Kjelle and Lucina so far.

Stahl x Sully (realize now that Kjelle's class pool is a problem)

Vaike x Miriel (I don't know why I thought this would be a good idea)

Chrom x Sumia (Finally a good Pairing)

Gregor x Nowi

Future pairs:

Libra x Lissa

Robin x Lucina

4. Considering the above, what other 1st gen pairings should I make?

This is probably obvious from the above, but no spoilers please.

It's not necessary to wait until Level 15-20 to promote. If anything, I'd promote early to get your Level 5/Level 15 skills ASAP. Since you can effectively reclass and promote at will - and Seals are buyable - you can just do so over and over and cap all your stats with enough patience.