Does Fire emblem hate old people?

PizzaRice

Im kinda new to the Fire emblem games (not the franchise tho) and one thing ive noticed when looking into the older games, whenever you recruit an old person, they start off a monster then kinda suck real quick. Especially in Fates where we get Reina (ok not that old but you see some wrinkles near her mouth), Gunter and Shura. outa the 3, Shura was the only one i used and thats b/c he has a niche of being both a healer and a bow user. I used Reina a lil bit but after a few lvls with only a skill or 2 raising, i tossed her aside for scarlet in birthright. And then theirs Gunter. I really like Gunter, hes a power house who could handle the first few chapters on his own. Then he eventually he gets replaced by Rinkah, Benny, Silas, ect.

So besides slapping aptitiude on them to bandaid their aweful growths, is their anyway to make them useful?

• Replies 56
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Don't know about that... While I agree with the recruitable characters, some NPCs or the villains are old and extremely powerful.

Gharnef, Nergal, Vigarde, Valter, the priest enemy from FE8, Ike's father, Deghinsea, Validar, Walhart, Garon, etc.

There's Athos for the player, but I guess he would be an exception for... special circumstances. I think Gunter should have at least more SKL,but I'm ok with the rest of the stats.

Gunter is a Jagan, and his excuse for being the worst character in the game is that he is old.

Reina is one of those units who starts promoted and has all the benefits of a promoted unit, but once you begin promoting all of your other units they begin to fall behind others.

Shura has the benefit of, for the most part, being a unit who joins with stats that reflect a 20/## unit, unlike Reina and Gunter.