First playthrough of Conquest and apparently I got some bizarre rng blessed units

ragnell.

Hello! This is my first time playing Fates and I am doing it blind, playing in Hard, using characters as they come, marrying blind if they reach S support naturally, not doing side maps or DLC. As I don't know what skills gets each class I don't do much class change. Well, it seems my first conquest playthrough is a bit bizarre. By chance I saw in a comment that Odin and Selena are mediocre units and that the royals + silas are the best. Interestingly in my blind experience I assumed that Odin + Selena were top tier. Now in chapter 19 of conquest I got:

Selena lvl 5 Brave Hero: Hp 38, Str 22, Skill 26, Spd 28, Lck 19, Def 24, MgDef 11. Have not given a single stat booster. What surprised me is that selena tends to have bad skill, I thought that she was a classic swordmaster with high skill, speed and with the plus of having good defence. Thought that the only flaky side was her strength which can be solved with forged steel weapons.

Odin lvl 5 Sorcerer: Hp 33, Magic  24, skill 20, Spd 23, luck 20, Def 14, MagDef 18. Pretty decent, better mage than leon

Also got a fantastic Effie (lvl 6 great knight) with 27 defence,  28 strength and 20 speed.

Instead I got a glass Silas (paladin lvl 3) with 17 defense and mediocre 19 speed

A leon (lvl 7 dark knight) that can only chip damage and can't stand too much damage with 23 mag, 16 str, 19 speed, 19 def, 20 MagDef

Xander ate 2 speedwings just to not be doubled. But got great defense.

So I got lucky with mediocre units but not so much with good units like Silas & Kaze.

Take a lot of those tier lists with a grain of salt, in Fates especially your style of play (stance preference, skill vs stat preference, party composition, etc.), and restricts you place on your run will greatly impact what units are "good".

6 hours ago, ragnell. said:

Selena lvl 5 Brave Hero: Hp 38, Str 22, Skill 26, Spd 28, Lck 19, Def 24, MgDef 11.