Interesting Idea to Spice up a New Playthrough

Instinct

Team Backup (AKA: The true power was the friends we made along the way)

Preface:  Hi all! I've been using this site to help my theorycrafting for a while, but this is my first time posting. This idea just turned out so well that I had to share it, and hopefully some of you can appreciate it as much as I did.

I had just played through the game for the first time on Hard, and wanted to do a Maddening run next. I really liked the chain attack mechanic and wanted to see how it would look if taken to the extreme, so I made a list of rules and set out to rain terror down upon the Fel Dragon’s forces.

Rules:

1. Re-class Alear into a Backup unit as early as possible. Leave Alear as a Backup unit for the duration of the game.

2. When choosing which units to take each battle, start by choosing only units that have the chain attack ability. If there are still empty slots after using all chain attackers, fill the remainder at player’s discretion.

3. The unit holding Emblem Lucina counts as a Backup unit, and all rules referencing Backup units consider this holder as one.

4. All second seals must be used to re-class someone into a backup unit. Master seals must prioritize backup units, but if none are available to promote, they may be used on other units with the intent on re-classing them to an advanced class backup unit when a second seal becomes available. Once the player has a full roster of backup units, seals may be used at player’s discretion, so long as there are always enough backup units to deploy a full team.

5. Upon unlocking Emblem Lucina, train all backup units in order to inherit Dual Assist. After all units have Dual Assist, continue training them to inherit Dual Assist+. Equip this skill on all units. The holder of Emblem Lucina is exempt, as they will have this skill naturally.

6. (Optional) Play on Maddening difficulty to get the most out of this comp’s unique power.

Final Roster: 

Spoiler