[SOLVED][FE7] Character Forcing

Avril Lavigne

Hey I'm here to cover one of the final things I think I need to cover. I mean, I'm not really good with conditions at the moment but I'm sure I could figure that out (hopefully) on my own.

Anyways, I have no idea how to force a certain character(s) on a certain chapter(s). Soooo can someone explain or link me a good explanation about how it works?

Thanks.

Edited by Avril Lavigne

Hi avril, thanks for getting back to me on the lengthy explanation on the Sappy interface I wrote for you, I hope it was very informative

the character forcer, which you can find in Nintenlord's resource topic, works like this: you have a pointer table, each corresponding to a successive chapter. This table is written to an arbitrary arrest by Nintenlord ($D80000? I think?) These pointers point to a list of characters, terminated by a 0x00. I know this doesn't make s lot of sense so I'll write out an example:

At $D80000 you have several pointers written in succession, like so:

00 00 D7 08 10 00 D7 08 20 00 D7 08

The first is a pointer to the list of characters forced in the prologue, the second for chapter 0x01, etc. This corresponds to the chapters in the Chapter Data Editor. So if your Chapter 13 is written to 0x02, then the third pointer corresponds to Chapter 13.

At $D70000 by default nothing will be written - you need to write the character IDs of those whom you want. So if you wrote 01 02 03, this would force Eliwood, Lyn and Hector. You end this with 00 t let the game know it can stop reading for IDs. Otherwise, if you wrote 01 02 03 04 it would also force character 0x04, as opposed to 01 02 03 00 04 which would only force characters 0x01 0x02 0x03.

Does that make a bit more sense?

Hi avril, thanks for getting back to me on the lengthy explanation on the Sappy interface I wrote for you, I hope it was very informative