Support System

So, I kinda want the new support system from Fates, and Awakening to be in Echos, maybe with some tweaks hear and there, though. (pls don't kick me) I'm really used to this system, because I have sadly only played Awakening, and Fates, and I don't really know a lot about the classice support system. (Seriously Radiant Dawn is like $80 on Amazon, I am an average college student. I can't afford that.) So could somebody might give me a quick run down on the classic support system? (Side thought: What will be the price of the amiboos?)

The original support system was just units giving passive boosts to hit and such to one another, and there's no indication who gets support bonuses from who in game. No conversations between units unlocked.

FE4's supports was just between lovers or some siblings, but it allowed the chance for critical hits and a guaranteed hit. There's some dialogue in certain circumstances, but it's irrelevant otherwise.

For the GBA titles, supports give boosts to things like avoid, defence and crit, and they can only get 5 support ranks total (like one A and B rank, 2 B and a C rank or 2 C and an A rank). FE12 had something similar, but how they grew and how it boosts unit's combat differed.

I can't tell you about PoR RD's supports. 

Fire Emblem Tellius's supports function somewhat similarly to the GBAs, but with new affinities and Crit chance (and possible Dodge) have been removed from the potential bonuses. Bonuses add as they do in GBA- it's how they're formed that's different.