I’m worried about being judged by how I play fire emblem

9000gigabitePC

I have been playing fire emblem since 2015 and don’t get me wrong, I love it. But I have such anxiety about being judged about my play style and being called a “Filthy Casual”. I’ve seen videos on YouTube that show playthroughs of games were it is modded to have 0 growths and sometimes I feel bad about not doing that. For example when I play three houses on maddening, I get to chapter 5 and I do the quest battles before the mission and I get level 1 units to level 5. But I’m also reminded of awakening lunatic where in skirmishes defeating any unit you only get a single point of exp so I feel like this shouldn’t be possible. Another example in engage where I give the Sigurd ring to vander in Anna’s paralouge. They say you shouldn’t invest in vander at all, but I really just want to stop the thieves from taking off with the master seal. And in chapter 7 of engage I have Anna recruited and has micaiah equipped to constantly use up staffs. Also exploring the ring chamber so I get a lot of a and s rank rings.

If anyone judges you for how you play Fire Emblem, just judge them for being judgemental. These games are meant to be played for fun. If you're enjoying them that's what matters. So long as you don't actively complain about them and ignore the advice people give to make it easier, you're good.  And, for what it's worth, I think the community is a more accommodating place for "using whoever I want because I want to" than it was ten years ago.

You're not being judged for how you play Fire Emblem. 

You're being judged for playing Fire Emblem. It's over for you. Just by being here, everyone on this site has lost half of my respect, including me.