Anime vs. Western Animation.

CrashGordon94

Anime vs. Western Animation  

36 members have voted

1. 1. Which do you prefer?

I'd have to say anime, but I have little experience with western animation. Other than the cartoons I used to watch 10+ years ago, and which I hardly remember now, I don't really watch any western shows.

anime

though the western animation has some good cartoons, Looney Toons comes to mind.

Edited by Alakazam

What Dracohon said, although the cartoons in the 90s were really great. God I miss Looney Toons, Animaniacs, Pinky and the Brain, Batman, Superman and other superhero animated series and whatever other great shows they had back then.

Edited by 21_21

The popular 80s shows were usually better than the 90s ones (animation wise). Transformers, for example, started out pretty bad but became mind-numbingly awesome in the movie. Though a lot of shows had many Japanese animators and such (I know this is the case with shows like Bionic Six and Transformers, and it's probably the same for a lot of other Hasbro cartoons) so I don't know if that makes them anime or Western...or maybe both.

In any case, I don't really prefer any style. As long as the art direction doesn't make me cringe (purposefully distorted proportions, etc.), then both are fine and can be great. The best I've seen of both worlds have so far been Transformers: The Movie (and maybe some Disney movies) for Western, and Vampire Hunter D for anime.

Probably western animation, but largely due to the huge guys like Disney. Yeah, Japan has Miyazaki and Studio Ghibli, but the fluid motions and just overall excellent animation of Disney movies puts them ahead IMO.

When it comes to just regular old cartoons, tie. The style is usually way too different for me to be able to compare them (like comparing Rocko's Modern Life to your typical anime).