Text Editing? Missing something obvious?

chase

I'm just getting started with text editing using FEditor Adv... and I must be missing something painfully obvious.

How exactly is one supposed to go about creating custom conversations?

I've just tried simply changing a word or two in already existing text, applying, and saving, but this ALWAYS produces a crash.

Every tutorial I've found for FEditor just trivially asserts that it's simple.

What am I missing here?

I was... being serious. How exactly do you go about editing a conversation? I went to entry 0x7EF, which happens to be a conversation between Pent and Louise, and changed a few words. When I tried loading the conversation in game it crashed with the familiar screeching sound.

I understand that just changing conversations in the middle of already existing ROM data would change offsets and whatnot, so the crash makes sense. I would THINK that you'd make conversations and insert them in free space, like maps and events, but there appears to be no way to do this.

So... how do I edit or make a custom conversation using FEditor Adv?

The program relocated and repoints text for you.

As I said, Xeld is just an ass and his program doesn't work for some people. Not even if you make your changes, press "apply", quit the text editor, and save in the main FEditor Adv menu.

Can you explain to me just how the text editor works? The way I'm understanding it, the index is the index in some "text pointer table", which points to encrypted/compressed data. The program then uncompresses it, lets you edit it, and recompresses it. Is this the gist of it?

Why exactly and how would I "relocate and repoint text"? Sorry if I sound like a n00b.... it's because I am.

Have you actually edited the ROM? 100% (serious figure here) of the time people have problems with the text editor they are using a hacked ROM and need to fix whatever they broke. If you're using a clean ROM then I don't know what to tell you.