Rugby World Cup 2011 - New Zealand are Champions

Raven

So it's already kicked off. New Zealand (the hosts) have creamed Tonga 41 - 10.

These are the fixtures, along with results. All times are in New Zealand time:

3e9c774521735664cc2981f07140cc9a.png

bcbc85a1c7a000b7fe318d184845864e.png

a3475ef0e0803e8781d3953ad5abf06e.png

5b4762d000d1d56b4f7ce1c046adf7e5.png

Go Wales.

Edited by V-Raven

More games have been played today:

Pool A

France 47 - 21 Japan

Pool B

Scotland 34 - 24 Romania

Argentina 9 - 13 England

Pool D

Fiji 49 - 25 Namibia

Tomorrow:

Australia v Italy

Ireland v USA

South Africa v Wales

Edited by V-Raven

I'm used to Divisions in US football, not Pools. They mean the same thing though, right? They're divided by skill? I'm just getting into rugby.

The teams are not divided into skill or anything like that. There are 5 teams in each pool, placed randomly.

The winner and runner-up (1st and 2nd) in each pool qualify for the quarter-finals. Teams ranked third, fourth and fifth will be eliminated from the Tournament.

Quarter-final matches:

QF 1 - Winner pool C v Runner up pool D

QF 2 - Winner pool B v Runner up pool A

QF 3 - Winner pool D v Runner up pool C

QF 4 - Winner pool A v Runner up pool B

Teams winning quarter-final matches qualify for the semi-finals and teams losing quarter-final matches will be eliminated from the Tournament.

Semi-final matches:

SF 1 - Winner QF1 v Winner QF2

SF 2 - Winner QF3 v Winner QF4

And so on.

>several 40+ scores

This isn't the rugby I know

What is the rugby you're more familiar with? The scoring system is slightly different (5 points a try, 3 points for a converted penalty kick) to what I'm familiar with, but these teams are among the best in the world.

And on that note, new matches were played today.

Australia 32 - 6 Italy

Ireland 22 - 10 USA

South Africa 17 - 16 Wales