Microsoft XNA vs Actual GBA ROM

cloudropis

I don't have ANY hacking knowledge, and I really mean ANY. I want to improve (but I think "start" is the most suited word) my hacking skill by doing some rom hack this summer, but I don't know what's easier to start with: hacking a GBA (FE7) rom, or doing a scratch new game with Microsoft XNA / .NET Framework (a la Immortal Sword). I THINK the latter has some FE related resources on the web like animations, scripts etc, and I don't really like the idea of being constrained by the GBA's cartridge limited space, or minor quality sound, but I'm really bareboned so I wanna start with the easiest thing. What way should I take?

PS Wait, WAIT! I KNOW C!!

Ehrm, seriously, I have basic c/c++ knowledge, started it this year in school, so I dunno if this is a point toward M$ XNA.

Space isn't an issue

Like at all.

You'll have over 16 MB of space which can surprisingly hold a lot as long as you're good with space management. Sound with GBA is limited to midis and you have to tweak it, while with XNA you can just use MP3's I'm pretty sure.

IMO start with GBA, mess around with things and see if you like it, otherwise try XNA I guess.

GBA's limitations really just come in the form of sound (track number) and AI (Good example is thieves not being able to escape after stealing something unless on a specific chapter ID and on a specific tile) Map size too I guess, but GBA really has a good size for those unless you're making an FE4 remake.

GBA is currently easier but if Bwd releases his engine or whatever and you wait a year for things to settle in, info to come out, etc. then XNA would probably not only be much better due to its features etc., but have a lot more flexibility, general capability, and might even be easier in the long-run, who knows.