Dragon quest 7 and 8

sirmola

Aperrintly, dragon quest 7 and 8 are going to have english 3ds versions. Has anyone played them before? would you recommend them? I have tried to play all dragon quest games except those two(always in the gbc or ds versions), but the only ones i have finished are 1, 2, and, 5. For all others, i lost interest during the pre-final boss grinding. I read an LP of 7, but lost interest(and honestly, the way they force you through dungeons twice feels like artificial game-play extension). I have no previous experience with 8. Does anyone else have anythinge to say? Also, are tere any good DQ8 LPs out there? For reference, the DQ7 LP i read is here: http://lparchive.org/Dragon-Warrior-VII/

Edited by sirmola

• Replies 67
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I've played both. VII's remake is something I've been waiting for for the past two years, the old translation being sub-par, I wanted to be able to play it with the full glory of an up-to-date quality translation.

VII is one of the best games I've played, no exaggeration here. It's incredible. I recommend it to everyone.

VIII isn't as good as VII imo, but I still completely recommend it.

I posted the character name changes for VII in the main NDirect thread, but here are their (and the first town's) new names:

Fishbel is now Pilchard Bay

Gabo has been changed to Ruff

Melvin is now Sir Mervyn

Edited by Glaceon Mage

Never played 7, but reading the story about 7 is fascinating to say the least.

8 is neat. It has some of my favorite bosses and features. The monster team is pretty cool, and im a fan of the "character specific" skill tree. IIRC it was somewhat hard