HM Playthrough

Balcerzak

Last night I began a runthrough of this on Hard Mode. Ultimate goal it to try to rank, but this is my first time on HM (3rd overall, but on the first I didn't know about the gaiden chapter requirements and got the short ending. :()

I'll give ~frequentish updates, in case anyone cares to follow along, and while input and suggestions will be appreciated, they will not all necessarily be followed. (Roy marrying a girl is a must. No alternatives will be tolerated, this is your only warning.)

Chapter 1:

This chapter was a royal bitch. Even making (what I considered to be) good use of Marcus to soften up every enemy he could, Alan and Lance kept getting doubled up on and killed somewhere in the first couple of turns. Then I passed that and Wolt got his ass handed to him (due to me being careless), and if it wasn't him, then it was Roy. I had to retry it about 10 times (low end estimate) before I really got a (working) strategy I was comfortable with going, and didn't get owned by poor RNs.

Random notes: Time taken was somewhere around ~10 turns (I tried to keep track but got excited/distracted and missed a few). Every enemy killed, Lance got the Boss kill, Wolt picked up the village gold. Decent levels gained, except Roy, if memory served.

Chapter 2:

In contrast, this chapter was blazed through on the first go. Smooth sailing, really. Ward's accuracy sucks worse than I remembered. Marcus again was used liberally as a tenderizer, with Dieck playing a similar role on the RHS once he arrived. Thany got a few kills in, trying to do her part to help EXP rank and send me to Ilia.