Favorite word

Tamanoir

Is there a world in your language or any other that you really like for no particular reasons, just because you like how they sound ?

When I started learning english, I really liked the world "near". I thought that it really sounds like what it define.

I also love "Nevertheless" and is french translation "Néanmoins", so I try to use it instead of "However"/"Cependant" every time I can.

And I really thinks that Tamanoir is the best character game ever (It's the giant anteater, if you're wondering). That was the name I gave to the heroine in FE4, and I will probably gave it to one of my MU, in Awakening.

So, what are your favorite words ?

I only know Japanese and English, but in Japanese I like the sound of combinations of "koro," "koto," "suru," and a few others. For example, 「参加することだ」 (sankasuru koto da) just rolls off the tongue and sounds...pointed. It's sounds that like that that made me fall in love with the language in the first place.

My favorite world is Jupiter. Actually no, my favorite world is either Gensokyou, the Monster Hunter world, or the Baten Kaitos world. Or The World from .Hack

My favorite word is antidisestablishmentarianism.

Edited by Frédéric François Chopin

Gormless. And, by extension, gorm or gormly. And chiaroscuro.

Requiem is a great word to me.

In Latin, we were taught (not that pronunciation was graded) to use a hard c instead of a soft c. So "Circe," (the witch in the Odyssey who turns men to pigs) which I normally think of as not much different from "Seer-say" (or Cersei) became "Kier-kay" (sort of like the beginning of Kierkegaard I guess?). I like that sort of sound, so I like that, and there were probably some other words I also liked with that change.

Schwarzvald or velt (or whatever that word is - I'd bet whoever is reading has seen this word before) I like a lot.

One of the words for "you" in Japanese that's sort of used for "bastard" kind of moments...kisama, I think. Ya, I like that word.