Fear of being challenged

Skynstein

Lately something is blocking me from playing games. I think of a game, then think that it's gonna be so hard to learn how to properly play it, then give up, even though I want to play it and have fun with it. It's like I'm afraid of being challenged and afraid to die in the games. So lately I've just been playing games like Pokémon, which I already know how to play. But I don't want to quit playing games. I want to enjoy them again. What to do?

My psychologist isn't helping me with it at all. She says I should play less. I do play 3 hours a day on average, but I don't think that's a lot. I spend too much time fooling around in social media because it's "easy", it doesn't challenge me at all, and I feel anxious before playing a game, anxious about the challenge of it. I don't know if knowing what lies ahead makes it better or worse. This tends not to happen with games like FE, in FE's case I just feel lazy because I'm not that good at it.

Sometimes, and in all honesty this may be generic advice, you have to force yourself to start playing it. Nothing special, you just force yourself to start it and spend an hour just grinding through the beginning. I think once you get into it you'll get hooked.

FIRST - I strongly suggest that you don't ask for psychological help from the Internet. Almost all of us aren't licensed to help you.

SECOND - If you feel that your psychologist isn't helping you, see if you can find one that does!

Then play game on easiest level, grind a lot to pass difficult levels with ease or play game in which losing is actually not a problem or savescum and save state all the times. It will get to the point that you dont want to play game anymore because it's too easy. Honestly, nowadays game are pretty easy on the players.

I kinda like to look at it this way: