Everything is on fire

Blasied

As you may have guessed, I live in Australia. The area I live in is having some serious bushfire troubles right now with over 300 homes already lost or damaged. My town has not been hit but a good wind could change that very quickly.

Tonight I have to pack my bags in case we need to evacuate within the next few days. Fires happen a lot around here but I've never felt this panicked by them before.

Just felt like something that people in my situation would talk about, I guess. I'm new to this whole "talking about myself" thing.

Well, I literally can't see the sky through all the smoke. And my boyfriend had to evacuate a few days ago and a significant amount of his town doesn't exist anymore (luckily his house only had some superficial scorching).

Being told about reality can lead to fear.

I think it's better to know what's going on than being afraid of what could possibly happen. I mean, sure sometimes it actually can be pretty scary, but I dunno, my imaginations always been able to 1-Up reality in that department.

at the moment Canberra fortunately isn't under threat from the fire, but it's certainly starting to be visible here - the sky's taken up the traditional fire-induced reddish glow and i'm pretty sure we've got a thin layer of smoke drifting over now

that we're starting to see the side effects of it this far away is a testament to how bad it really is over there (which is actually pretty dickish of me to say i mean the whole giant-ass fires and burned husks of former towns thing is obviously the bigger testament to its severity whoops)

sorry you're dealing with this, man. fuck arson and bushfires in all their forms

Edited by bookofholsety

http://www.rfs.nsw.gov.au/dsp_content.cfm?cat_id=683 Fire map. Zoom in to the red ones. I live a bit west of the Springwood one. If it moves to the highway our evacuation routes will become a bit limited. Living in a heavily forested area kinda bites in fire season.