I spent way more on this game than i thought i did

sirmola

After spending some money on the brave banner, I thought for a little bit and decided that I wanted more info on exactly how much I spent total. After not finding any information in the app, I went onto the google play store's transaction history, and added all my purchase amounts manually using a spread sheet. I discovered that i have spent $240 on this game (most of it in the last 2 months). This disturbes me, because I was under the impression that I had spent less than $150, total (I started playing around BH1, and my first purchase was the black knight pack). Although I can afford it, I still feel tricked, and am considering uninstalling the app. (if only so that this does not happen again. I am trying to save money for a rainy day). On the other hand, It is providing hours (and hours. and hours) of entertainment, and allowing me to flex my strategy muscles.  On the third hand, things like daily quests feel exploitative, because they force me to play the game on its terms (to make it impossible to unplug while maximizing f2p benefits). Urg. This post is partly to vent, and partly to solicit advice.

Edited by sirmola

i've never touched heroes, but i'd say that you should just stop playing. never have been a fan of the mobile game business model, after all, you've spent 4 times the amount it would take to just get 1 AAA console game, and it may be fun, but if you don't want to play a largely addictive game on its own terms, like you mentioned, you should probably stop playing, because playing and buying orbs is clearly a big detriment to your wallet, and said wallet can buy other, just as fun, if less dangerous games.